Talon Theatre's The Music Man Named One of Top 10 Musicals at Spirit of the MACY Awards

Talon Theatre's The Music Man Named One of Top 10 Musicals at Spirit of the MACY Awards

The Cerritos Center for the Performing Arts was the setting for a special Mother’s Day celebration as hundreds of students from high schools around Orange County gathered for the 53rd Annual MACY Awards show. Santa Margarita was well represented by the over fifty cast members, crew, staff and parents of The Music Man. Selected as one of only ten shows to perform, Talon Theatre students presented a medley from The Music Man that included the songs “Iowa Stubborn” and “Trouble.” The crisp, polished performance by the cast, dressed in sharp black, red and white show shirts was highlighted by Ethan Diaz '23 as Harold Hill moved with ease around the stage. The performance brought thunderous applause from the sold-out audience.

Throughout the day, Talon Theatre cast and crew members were recognized with 30 individual MACY Awards, including Best Large Ensemble and a Scholarship awarded to Sarah Clarke '23. The day culminated with The Music Man receiving The Spirit of The MACY Award for being one of the top 10 musicals of the year.

Talon Theatre Director Amy Luskey-Barth was honored by the Spirit of the MACY Committee with a special plaque recognizing her retirement as Artistic Director of Talon Theatre after 35 years in educational theatre as her students chanted “Mrs. Barth. Mrs. Barth.” 

The award-winning cast and crew members for The Music Man received medallions for their individual and group performance. The award-winners include:

Bright Spot: Naomi Clarke (middle school student) as Amaryllis, Henry Mellow '25 as Charlie Cowell, Kate Ekezian '25, Jillian Mooney '26, Kate Mulvihill '24, Libby Rue (middle school student) as Teen Dancers and Nathan Harter (middle school student) as Winthrop.

Special Recognition: Pick-a-Little Ladies Charlie Goubran '25, Madalyn Plush '26, Helen Reginato '26, Anna Sprague '25, Lucy Stiles '25, Caroline Thompson '26, Jorja Garrett '25, Reaghan Genest '25. The barbershop quartet Octi Roges '23, Jack Shoemaker '23 Armon Alemzadeh '24 and Robbie Troyan '24.

Achievement Awards: Tyler Von der Ahe '23 as Marcellus, Landon Borowski '24 as Mayor Shinn, Jeremy Ahn '26 as Tommy Djilas, Brianna Velez '23 as Zaneeta and Sophie Pennell '23 as Mrs. Paroo.

Stagecraft Award for Hair and Makeup: Ava Miller '23.

Highest Achievement: Raelyn Spooner '24 as Eulalie, Delaney Giraudi '23 as Marian Paroo and Ethan Diaz '23 as Harold Hill.

“Best” Actor Nominees: Comedic Actress Raelyn Spooner '24, Lead Actress Delaney Giraudi '23 and Best Lead Actor Ethan Diaz '23.

A jubilant cast, crew and staff including Sabrina Boyd - Assistant Director Chris Winn, Musical Director - Holly Nellesen, Wardrobe Supervisor Daniel Berkman, adult cast members and dozens of parents celebrated and captured the moment in photos and videos.

The Music Man was directed by Amy Luskey-Barth and Sabrina Boyd, Musical Direction by Chris Winn, Choreography by Frankie Marrone, Sound Design by Mike Ritchey, Light Design by Ed Huber, Set Design and Technical Direction by David Tehero, Costumes by Sarah Atia '24 and Holly Nellesen and Production Management by Annette Melosini.