Graphic Simulated DUI Crash Provides Safety Message

Santa Margarita Catholic High School students appeared visibly impacted as they watched classmates reenact a fatal two-car drunk driving accident. Every 15 minutes, someone in the United States dies or is seriously injured in an alcohol-related incident. Teenagers know these statistics but often believe it won’t happen to them.

The program helps bring awareness to students that they are not invincible. Every 15 Minutes is a two-day program that challenges students to think about driving while intoxicated and the responsibility of making mature choices. The California Highway Patrol helps fund this impactful program. The first day was the simulated crash. On the second day, students watched a video recap of the crash and its outcomes and listened to a guest speaker and survivor, Wendy K. Reynolds.

This event is designed to teach students about the dangers of drinking/texting and driving and is showcased by a mock car crash with an overturned vehicle. Firefighters use the “Jaws of Life” and simulate treatment of traumatic and fatal injury patients while law enforcement officers conduct a field sobriety test. The mock crash is put on by Friends Against Drinking and Driving (FADD), founded by alumni parent and Orange County Fire Authority Capt. Steve Concialdi. FADD's first mock crash was held in 1991 at SMCHS.

Click here to watch the video presentation by ETV 2.0. Warning: Graphic content.

Click here to read the Orange County Register article.


Thank you to the Following Agencies and Groups

California Highway Patrol

California Office of Traffic and Safety

Friends Against Drunk Driving

Orange County Fire Authority

Orange County Sheriff’s Department

Rancho Santa Margarita City Council

Rancho Santa Margarita Police Services

Ayres Suites

Mrs. Hollie Schillig

Mr. Steve Concialdi

Mrs. Wendy K. Reynolds

Mr. Craig Cambell

Deputy Kyle Harriman

Officer Rafael Reynoso


Senior Participants

Ashley Connor

Carley Bowles

Damian Cabada

Romen Christensen

Morgan Davies

Katelyn Fosdick

Caroline Hayden

Brandon Kim

Thea Le

Connor Murphey

Ashley Prentice

Ashley Rodgers

James Russo

Elizabeth (Ella) Schneider

Lott (Quint) Steffey V.

Isabelle Trichet

Madeleine Wagner

Sydnee Woods


For more information about Every 15 Minutes, click here