header-top-wrapper

header-utility-container

Menu

MUN

Model United Nations

What is Model United Nations?

MUN stands for Model United Nations. Students travel to other schools throughout Orange County and California, the United States and overseas to compete in an academic competition.
The competition simulates sessions of the General Assembly, Security Council, Economic and Social Council, and other United Nations organizations in which students represent the delegates of participating countries. Participation in a MUN program can be a valuable educational experience for the student, giving them the opportunity to combine academic study with firsthand experience. At the same time, it enhances an understanding of current world issues, methods and techniques of problem-solving, and the role of the UN in international affairs. The MUN program is integrated into the Social Studies curriculum for those students who are interested in this unique experience. Students must take Cultural Geography / Model United Nations their freshman year to be involved with the MUN program.

Is MUN for me?

  • Are you looking for challenging, yet rewarding courses to take at SMCHS?
  • Do you enjoy researching, debating and public speaking?
  • Do you enjoy meeting people from other schools, states and countries?
  • Do you want to take a course that colleges are impressed by?
  • Do you want the opportunity to develop your leadership skills and to be a student leader?
  • Do you enjoy traveling to places such as: Boston, New York, London, Montreal, and China?
  • Are you interested in International Affairs?
If you answered "yes," then SMCHS MUN is for you!

Fees

$450 per year covers costs of local conferences.
Travel conferences are extra and by invitation only.

MUN Summer Boot Camp

If you are interested in MUN, get a jump start on the school year by enrolling in this special MUN BOOT CAMP! The camp will be run by SMCHS MUN director, Mr. John Remmell. He will give you his expert MUN advice on how to become an award-winning delegate. And you will get a chance to meet other students that will be future MUNers as well. This is a totally optional program intended to give our incoming freshmen the best start possible in MUN!

All sessions are held in the library at SMCHS. The cost of the session is $150 and lunch will be provided at each session at no extra charge. There is no dress code but students should be dressed modestly. All materials will be provided, students don't need to bring anything with them other than a pen or pencil. Students will meet at the front of the school on the first day and led to the library. For the second and third days students should report directly to the library.

CLICK HERE for more details on MUN.

Sign-up for the bootcamp


We look forward at seeing you at MUN Boot Camp
Summer 2019!

October 2019
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
Sun, Sep 29
Mon, Sep 30
Tue, Oct 1
Wed, Oct 2
Thu, Oct 3
Fri, Oct 4
Sat, Oct 5
Sun, Oct 6
Mon, Oct 7
Tue, Oct 8
Wed, Oct 9
Thu, Oct 10
Fri, Oct 11
Sat, Oct 12
Sun, Oct 13
Mon, Oct 14
Tue, Oct 15
Wed, Oct 16
Thu, Oct 17
Fri, Oct 18
Sat, Oct 19
Sun, Oct 20
Mon, Oct 21
Tue, Oct 22
Wed, Oct 23
Thu, Oct 24
Fri, Oct 25
Sat, Oct 26
Sun, Oct 27
Mon, Oct 28
Tue, Oct 29
Wed, Oct 30
Thu, Oct 31
Fri, Nov 1
Sat, Nov 2

Calendar