Diversity • Inclusion • Vision • Equity 

Founded in the spring 2020, the formerly recognized Justice Committee voted to change the group's name to reflect a broader scope of focus and purpose. Comprised of members of the SMCHS community, the D.I.V.E. Committee collaborates on a weekly basis to discuss, communicate and create initiatives and events that support the goal of
strengthening diversity, inclusion and equity across SMCHS



It is vital for our students to:

  • learn about themselves and gain insight into the experiences of others;
  • think critically about history as well as contemporary society;
  • find freedom within the power of knowledge;
  • be empowered to change and improve their lives and communities. 

As an Eagle family, we want our graduates to be leaders, innovators, and changemakers.

Our goal is to make sure that each student, faculty, and staff member is not only expertly educated, but

  • stands up for justice
  • speaks out against inequity
  • seeks diversity and inclusion in every aspect of life.

This is consistent with the Charism of Caritas Christi – the love of Christ, through humility, compassion, justice, and goodness. At Santa Margarita Catholic High School, we strive to purposefully center our lives around diversity, inclusion, equity and justice so that we can inspire all students, teachers and faculty to excel, serve and love.

2020-2021 D.I.V.E. Committee Members

The D.I.V.E. Committee is comprised of students, faculty, staff, alumni, parents and community stakeholders:

  • Antoinette Abdelmalek

  • Coleen Barry

  • Amy Barth

  • Justin Bell

  • Elizabeth Bork

  • Ryan Burris
  • Beth Chapman
  • Kendrick Choi
  • Ricardo Cuadra
  • Lana Diab
  • Father Tim Donovan
  • Melissa Driscoll
  • Sean Embree
  • Ben Erhardt
  • Sean Estrada
  • Alyssa Flynn
  • Melissa Fosdick
  • Robyn Frankenfield
  • Diana Harris
  • Melissa Hodge
  • Delaney Jankanish

  • Maria Johnson
  • Tracee Jones
  • Mohamad Khatibloo
  • Brandon Kim
  • Sergio Muniz
  • Lisa Naulls
  • Aidan OCampo
  • Stephanie Oddo
  • Matthew Orihuela

  • Ashley Prentice
  • Priscilla Trichet
  • Kelly Reynolds
  • Leslie Ryan
  • Tom Smith
  • Andy Sulick
  • Chuck Thomas
  • Kathryn Thomas
  • Mia Thomas
  • Vincent Thomas
  • Isabelle Trichet
  • Cheri Wood
  • Maria Teresa Avila - Recording Secretary 


There are currently four focus groups or “sub-committees” working on specific areas of improvement for SMCHS. The four focus groups are: